Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (2001)

Your rating: 12345678910
Ratings: 5 / 10 Rating count: 28

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (2001) poster

Date Created: 16/03/2012
Date Modified: 09/11/2017
Runtime: 120 phút -
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone is a fantasy novel written by British author J. K. Rowling. It is the first novel in the Harry Potter series and Rowling's debut novel, first published in 1997 by Bloomsbury. It was published in the United States as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by Scholastic Corporation in 1998. The plot follows Harry Potter, a young wizard who discovers his magical heritage as he makes close friends and a few enemies in his first year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. With the help of his friends, Harry faces an attempted comeback by the dark wizard Lord Voldemort, who killed Harry's parents, but failed to kill Harry when he was just 15 months old.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (released in the United States as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone)[4] is a 2001 British-American fantasy film directed by Chris Columbus and distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures.[3] It is based on the novel of the same name by J. K. Rowling. The film is the first instalment in the long-running Harry Potter film series, and was written by Steve Kloves and produced by David Heyman. Its story follows Harry Potter's first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry as he discovers that he is a famous wizard and begins his education. The film stars Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter, with Rupert Grint as Ron Weasley, and Emma Watson as Hermione Granger.

Warner Bros. bought the film rights to the book in 1999 for a reported £1 million ($1.275 million). Production began in the United Kingdom in 2000, with Chris Columbus being chosen to create the film from a short list of directors that included Steven Spielberg and Rob Reiner. Rowling insisted that the entire cast be British or Irish, and the film was shot at Leavesden Film Studios and historic buildings around the United Kingdom.

The film was released in theatres in the United Kingdom and the United States on 16 November 2001. It became a critical and commercial success, grossing $974.8 million at the box office worldwide. It was the highest grossing film of 2001. It was nominated for many awards including the Academy Awards for Best Original Score, Best Art Direction and Best Costume Design. It was followed by seven sequels, beginning with Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in 2002 and ending with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 in 2011, nearly ten years after the first film's release. It is the 32nd-highest-grossing film of all time and the second-highest-grossing film in the Harry Potter series behind Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2.

Directed by Chris Columbus
Produced by David Heyman
Screenplay by Steve Kloves
Based on Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
by J. K. Rowling

Daniel Radcliffe
Rupert Grint
Emma Watson
John Cleese
Robbie Coltrane
Warwick Davis
Richard Griffiths
Richard Harris
Ian Hart
John Hurt
Alan Rickman
Fiona Shaw
Maggie Smith
Julie Walters

Music by John Williams
Cinematography John Seale
Edited by Richard Francis-Bruce

Heyday Films
1492 Pictures

Distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures
Release date

4 November 2001(Odeon Leicester Square)
16 November 2001(United Kingdom & United States)

Running time
152 minutes[1]

United Kingdom
United States[2][full citation needed]

Language English
Budget $125 million[3]
Box office $974.8 million[3]